.

Readers' Choice: Shelton's Pre-Schools [POLL]

Vote for whichever you think is the best pre-school in Shelton.

You trust your pre-school provider with your children's health and safety. For this week's Readers' Choice, tell us here at Shelton Patch who it is. If you don't see your provider, tell us and we'll gladly add it to the poll! Voting ends 9 a.m. Friday.

We're asking you to weigh by:

  • Voting in our poll (scroll down to vote) 
  • Rating and reviewing (scroll down to click on your provider) 
  • Telling us in the comment thread what is missing from the list and why you use them

New players come and go all the time—hopefully more small business owners coming and succeeding than being forced to shut down. Shelton Patch updates its "Places" directory every day, so please let me know if you're a small business owner who doesn't see your business on this site, or if you want to , reaping a bunch of rewards for doing so.

Here's what we've got so far:

  • St. Lawrence School
Michele Goode March 05, 2012 at 11:05 PM
I recommend Kids First to everyone...I only wish I found them sooner!
Leigh Funderburk March 05, 2012 at 11:49 PM
I love Kids First! Best place we ever sent our kids to!
Michele Bourque March 06, 2012 at 01:44 AM
I love the staff at kids first and feel so comfortable knowing my 2 children are in such good hands. Highly recommend them!!
Gina Bennett March 06, 2012 at 03:05 AM
Miss T., Miss Gilbey, and Miss Michelle at Kids First Learning Center are AWESOME....both our kids went/go there and we were very pleased with the outcome!!!
Shannon Ligi March 06, 2012 at 03:24 AM
We LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Kids First ( both locations). They are the only place we would trust to watch our priceless children!!!! Love Miss Laura, Miss Lisa, Miss Terziano, Miss Michelle, Miss Debbie and all the other warm, loving and nuturing teachers!! The absolute BEST in Shelton!!
Monique Carne March 06, 2012 at 11:44 AM
A Child's Garden. . .the BEST! All my three children attended preschool there and LOVED it! The staff, programs and facility are top-notch. I highly recommend it! Our family had a wonderful experience and sweet memories. My children are in 5th, 3rd and 2nd now in the Shelton school system . . .A Child's Garden laid the foundation for enthusiasm for learning in those preschool years.
Elisa Uhrynowski March 06, 2012 at 04:22 PM
If you are looking for a classroom environment that is nurturing, explorative and creative, then Susanna Wesley School is the place to go. It is TOP NOTCH!!! The teachers are impeccable and truly love what they do for the children. SWS has a unique Music and Movement program for the children each day they are in school. Roberta Cenci, the Director, has put together a wonderful set of programs that fit families needs the best way possible and I can't say enough about the school. Both my children graduated from there and I know they were ready for Kindergarten when they left. Susanna Wesley School is a true gem of our community and has been for over 40 years!
kathleen s March 06, 2012 at 05:04 PM
Susanna Wesley is the greatest preschool around. The staff is the most loving and caring people. My son could not be happier if Barney were teaching the class. It is the first time in my life where I paid for something and have never once questioned my own decision. I am so thrilled about how he is treated and how much he is getting out of the entire enviroment. My only complaint is that they don't go from pre-K to 12th grade, because if they did, he would stay there forever.
Kayce March 06, 2012 at 09:46 PM
We are so pleased with A Child's Garden! They have such a beautiful and CLEAN center. I feel comfortable with the staff and administration. I know that my children are getting the best care possible! ACG is the best Pre School in Shelton along with there Pre Kindergaten Curriculm. I feel confident that my child will be ready for Kindergarten and I am going to put them into ACG's Kindergarten for the 2012-2013 School Year! :)
Terri March 06, 2012 at 10:18 PM
Best Pre School in SHELTON is A Child's Garden. Great Curriculm! Very pleased with this school and staff. Can not imagine sending my child anywhere else!
Mike Wood March 07, 2012 at 12:04 AM
Having only used A Child's Garden, I can't scientifically say it's "the best" since I have nothing to compare it to - BUT - I can heartfully say it's the best as they are nothing but kind, caring, AND professional. I have never once felt even a flicker of concern about my son's welfare or well-being while under their care, and to tell you the truth, often find myself thinking he's better of with them than with me! At least they KNOW what they're doing...I'm just guessing and hoping for the best!
Gloria Ganino March 07, 2012 at 12:47 AM
Kids First is the absolute best daycare! My 2 boys graduated from there and now my daughter will be graduating this June and I will miss everyone very much! The teachers have been wonderful to my children, they have cared for and loved them like their own and prepared them well for kindergarten! Both Kids First ROCK!
doe March 07, 2012 at 12:59 AM
My three grandchildren go to a childs garden and i am so pleased with the school and the administration.
Debbie Beauchemin March 07, 2012 at 01:52 AM
This is the first Day Care that I approached for my twins and I have to say I am glad I choose this provider. Ms Laura is compassionate and caring. My twins just love Ms. Sara and Ms. Leehann. They are the best. If your looking for a well rounded group I suggest you get in touch. Debi
Cheryl McMahon March 07, 2012 at 02:54 AM
Kid's First was my top choice when searching for child care. The Owner, and the staff are kind, understanding, and compassionate. I am thankful for them everyday especially seeing my daughter who is well above the learning curve. They have become an extension of my famiy
Kristen T March 07, 2012 at 12:40 PM
The preschool program at A Child's Garden is the BEST! The teachers are wonderful and we are always amazed at how much the children are learning! We love the planned activities that the parents get to be involved in too! I highly recommend A Child's Garden!!
Ashley DiMauro March 07, 2012 at 01:35 PM
Couldn't be happier with a Child's Garden! As a first time Mom you always have fears that you are making the right decision and I can happily say that putting my son in a Child's Garden was one of the best decisions I made for him! The staff are all wonderful and even though he is only in the infant room he is already bringing home art work! I am very excited to see him grow in their facility in the next few years!
Kate Pierpont March 07, 2012 at 02:48 PM
I have to add to the choir of praise for A Child's Garden! Both of my children have been at ACG since they were 8 weeks old and my son is now in the kindergarten program. As soon as I walked in, there was never any contest as to where we would be sending our child for daycare - and ultimately, preschool and kindergarten. Not only is the program clearly first-rate, but I've always felt that ALL of the staff at ACG have truly appreciated (and celebrated) who my kids are as individuals - they're just as intent on their successes as we are.
Leslie Flores March 07, 2012 at 06:25 PM
A child's Garden is a terrific school. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My daughter loves going and i couldn't be happier. I love all of the activities that they have and all the arts and crafts they have the kids do. I know my daughter is getting the best care and learning experience offered. Thank you for all your help!!!
Rosanna Davila March 08, 2012 at 02:39 PM
Kid's First Learning center is an amazing learning environment. I am so glad I chose this center for my daughter. They are so loving and genuinely in love with what they do every day. The staff is all wonderful. I could not have made a better decision on my daughter's education. I absolutely love this school.
Barbara Miani March 08, 2012 at 02:47 PM
kids First learning center is the best
Jessica Davila March 08, 2012 at 03:15 PM
My little munchkin loves her school (kids first learning center) and I think if she loves it than so do I. Pluse the staff is great... Keep up the good work ladies
melissa j March 08, 2012 at 07:44 PM
Wonder years is great! The teachers are calm and caring and provide a nurturing environment. Our son loves going to school there. We would highly recommend to others.
Todd Hennessey March 08, 2012 at 09:02 PM
A Child's Garden is the BEST preschool EVER!
yolanda davila March 09, 2012 at 02:05 AM
Kids first learning center on long hill ave in shelton.
Annette Lemma March 09, 2012 at 02:22 AM
All three of my children attended Kid's First in White Hills and they have nothing but the fondest memories of their years there! My 3rd is actually finishing up her last year and I know that she (and I) will be very sad to leave. The entire staff is awesome and I would highly recommend their program to anyone looking for a quality preschool. Thanks for everything, Kid's First!
JANINE HENNESSEY March 09, 2012 at 03:13 AM
My name is Ashley, and I am 9 years old. I went to A Child's Garden for preschool. I absolutely loved it! I am in third grade now and miss all the fun I had there. I had Miss Jen and Miss Yvonne. They were the best teachers ever. In the 3 year old class, Miss Jen would hold and comfort me every morning after my dad dropped me off. She was so nurturing. I love her and miss her so much. Miss Yvonne rocks, too! She was so funny. She always made me laugh. I had so much fun with her at field day. I still talk about that awesome event. After 6 years, both of these teachers are still there. I go back to visit them when I have time. The memories I have from A Child's Garden are all positive. They are truly the BEST preschool around. I wish I could have went there for Kindergarten, too. Now my little sister, Brooke attends ACG. She is in Miss Yvonne and Miss Kathy's class. She loves it too! You must send your children here for daycare, preschool, or kindergarten. Everyone at this school is kind and caring. They always put children first and try to make everyday special. I wish I was a 4 year old again!!!!!
Anthony cardenales March 09, 2012 at 01:04 PM
We can't say enough about the dedicated personnel at Kids First Learning Center providing first class professionalism and caring to both my children Luis and Hailey. Laura, Lisa, Debbie, Donna, Michelle, Gilby, Mrs. T, Nicole and the list goes on and on and on..................You've all been great!! We want to give a special shout out to Mrs. T for her pre-school curriculum. She is extremely dedicated in ensuring her/our children are prepared for kindergarten.
Julie Nordvall March 10, 2012 at 12:37 PM
Kids First Learning Center is an awesome school! The teachers are all fantastic. The environment is very nuturing, fun, and a very positive learning environment! Both my children spent many years there, and absolutely loved it. They were both very prepared for Kindergarten. My daughter is already saying she wants to work there when she gets big! I would recommend this school to everyone!
Elisa Uhrynowski May 31, 2012 at 02:59 PM
That saddens me to hear your comment of what happened at SWS yesterday. It's hard to judge what happened and what the situation was at the school. I have never heard parents complain about the director. I always received positive feedback on the PTO in the years I was a parent and member at the school. My kids were well prepared to enter Kindergarten and that is what the goal is for preschool. I hope for the best for everyone. I still believe SWS is a great school with much to offer for the children.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something